1 November - March: Closed (except from concerts and events).
1 March - 15 May : Open Sundays 12pm - 5pm
Utstein Monastary is mentioned in historical records going back to the 9th century, when it was cited as King Harald Fairhair´s garrison after the Battle of Hafrsfjord where Norway was unified under one monarch.
Construction of the Monastary started in about 1260, although some parts may be older and may date from earlier royal farm on the site. The Church is unique in Norway with its tower situated centrally between chancel and nave.
The Augustinian monks lived a pious life. Discipline was strict, with regular prayers, scripture readings, and services. The is believed to have housed 12 monks, but with a significant number of servants who looked after the farm, did the building work, and prepared the food. The Monastary owned considerable land and was wealthy enough to support 250 people year-round.
After the Reformation the Monastary was empty during long periods and fell into disrepair. When Christopher Garmann moved here in 1750 the buildings were refurbished, though sometimes in a very different form. The Monastary was used as a farmhouse for the surroundings fields until the early 1930s. Restoration of the chancel and tower of the church dates from about 1900, while the rest of the Monastary was renovated in the 1950s - 60s.
Nowadays the Monastary is run as a museum and course and conference centre, and is offered for private functions and as a concert venue. Much of the Monastary is open to the public during museum hours.